Documentaries about Antarctica (Part II)

Surprise, surprise, I watched more documentaries about Antarctica. I’m not above admitting that it’s an obsession. Antarctica is just so mesmerizingly interesting that I can’t help but spend my days (and nights) learning more about it.

Encounters at the End of the World

For those unfamiliar with Werner Herzog’s previous works (such as: Grizzly Man), his documentary style is a bit different. I’d describe his style as eccentric, with a humanitarian twist. In his documentary about Antarctica, Encounters at the End of the World, Herzog lingers more on the people living/working in Antarctica at McMurdo Station, than on the continent itself. Personally, there were sections, such as the long-lasting scenery shots, that lulled me to sleep. But, this documentary is still enjoyable, and as a viewer I got another glimpse into what it is like to work in Antarctica, and that made it worth it. Also, Herzog spends a good amount of time with the volcanologists researching around the rim of Erebus, and that was exciting to watch.

Personally, I rented the film on Amazon, but it sometimes pops up on Netflix. I thought it was worth the $5.

Time: 1 hr 39 min

Antarctic Edge: 70° South

This documentary, compared to a lot of the others, is much more of a climate change film, which makes sense since one of the largest indicators of Global Warming is the melting of sea ice in both the Arctic and Antarctic. While the beginning can be in your face about how we’re destroying the planet (which, to be fair we are, and should care more about that) the rest of the film’s tone about climate change is much more subdued. In the previous documentaries about Antarctica that I wrote about (you can read about them here) the U.S. base they featured was McMurdo Station, but in Antarctic Edge, we get to see the other United States station: Palmer Station. If you have any interest what so ever in Antarctica, or Penguins, than this documentary is a much watch. The shots of roaming ice bergs, and the pure white and grey coastline, are hauntingly beautiful.

I watched this documentary on Netflix, but I’m sure it can be found on Amazon as well.

Time: 1 hr 12 min

The Day I Almost Died

Now, this documentary/movie is NOT about Antarctica. The man in this video is the film maker/youtuber/renaissance man Casey Neistat. I included this movie in my list because I felt it fit. Most documentaries about Antarctica (or the Arctic) are all about survival; whether it’s the people living there, or the environment trying to thrive against all odds. Neistat’s movie is about the day he summit-ed Mt. Aconcagua— the tallest mountain in the Southern Hemisphere– with his friend Graham, and “crossed the line from risk into recklessness.” It’s a short watch, and personally made me feel like I should toe the line between risk and recklessness a bit more.

Time: 11 min. 17 sec.

If you ever needed the motivation to do something with your life, I highly recommend watching any of Casey Neistat’s videos.

Casey Neistat’s Youtube Channel


I know it’s been awhile, but I am back! I’ll have a post next week detailing what’s been going on in my life and what exciting things I have planned for this blog, so stay tuned!

If you’ve watched any documentaries that you love (about any subject really) PLEASE recommend them to me in the comment section.

Also if you liked this post, give it a like and maybe a share.I’d greatly appreciate it 🙂

You can also follow me here on WordPress, or on Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Documentaries about Antarctica (Part II)

Leave a Reply

